Start a new topic

I'm a new instructor and have some questions about teaching

Hi everyone :) I'm currently not teaching but waiting approval on 2 different establishments for fall programming.

I've never done this before and I come from a dental assisting background (eeeeek)

I've completed my practicum classes in april and miss teaching and pleasantly so do my participants miss the classes :D

I'm incredibly nervous about the technicalities and rules I need to follow....such as waivers and venues... do I need insurance or are the waivers sufficient? Can I do a class outdoors? ugh.... Am I doing this right? Should I be asking this on this forum? Am I making myself look bad? *lol* Where are these answers or guidelines written? Help me please!!! :/

Hey Nancy,

Thanks so much for your post. I moved it from the original topic, and created this topic for you. 

I look forward to hearing back from some of our CREW to get their feedback on your great questions. 

For the meantime, you can access the Operations Manual in Lesson 1 of the Foundation course: http://www.bellyfit.com/training/courses/foundation-course/1

It should cover most of those questions!

thanks,

Rowan

1 person likes this
Hi Nancy
I would talk with the facilities that you are planning to teach at. If it is a rec/community centre, they might already have waivers that your participants sign built into their system when people pay and register for the classes. They may also ask you to carry your own insurance in order to teach there. I would look into getting your own liability insurance. Check out http://www.holmanins.com/quotes/quotes
You could also look into getting certified as a group fitness leader (http://www.canfitpro.com)
When I first started teaching I had a waiver available that I had everyone sign. Plus a PARQ (http://www.csep.ca/english/view.asp?x=698)
I hope this helps!

It doesn't hurt to make sure you cover yourself.

1 person likes this